[ SkipToMainMenu ]

Senate 150 Anniversary Medal

The Senate 150th Anniversary Medal commemorates the first time senators came to Ottawa to sit in Parliament, on November 6, 1867. 

The medal was created to mark this important occasion and give Senators the opportunity to recognize twelve individuals who have made significant contributions in their communities.

The medals are being awarded to Canadians or permanent residents who are actively involved in their communities and through their generosity, dedication, volunteerism and hard work, make their hometowns, communities, regions, provinces or territories a better place to live.

Senator Frum has awarded twelve medals to twelve individuals who exemplify these virtues.

Click here for more information about the medal

Biographies of Recipients

Edward Sorbara

Edward Sorbara is a community leader and philanthropist in Toronto who served as a United Way of Greater Toronto Board Member for six years. He is on the Board of Villa Charities Foundation and sits on The Archdiocese of Toronto Finance Council and related Catholic Cemeteries’ Board. Mr. Sorbara served on the Founding Steering Committee of the Toronto City Summit Alliance, where he co-chaired the Affordable Housing Coalition. He also founded the Vaughan Breakfast for Prostate Cancer Canada.

Taylor Gunn and Lindsay Mazzucco

Taylor Gunn and Lindsay Mazzucco are the founders of CIVIX, which has operated the Student Vote program since 2013.  Lindsay serves as the Chief Operating Officer and Taylor is the President and Chief Election Officer.  CIVIX is a non-partisan, national registered charity building the skills and habits of citizenship among young Canadians. Since 2002, Mr. Gunn and Mrs. Mazzucco have worked with students, teachers, schools, governments and election agencies to encourage youth democratic participation.

Leslie Gales

Leslie Gales is an accomplished businesswoman and a leading philanthropist. She is Campaign Chair for the Ontario College of Art and Design’s “Ignite Imagination Campaign.” She is Chair of the Canada United Israel Appeal and past chair of UJA Federation of Greater Toronto. She is a Trustee of the Art Gallery of Ontario Foundation.

Julia Koschitzky C.M.

Julia Koschitzky is a leading philanthropist in Toronto’s Jewish community. Her roles have included: Chair of the Toronto UJA Campaign, Trustee of the York University Foundation, and President of the Jerusalem Foundation of Canada. In the later role, she spearheaded the creation of Canada House: a community centre providing social services for young adults and youth in need.

Professor Salim Mansur

Professor Mansur has done extensive work promoting interfaith understanding, particularly Jewish-Muslim reconciliation.  An author, columnist and professor at the University of Western Ontario, he is a founding member of the Board of Directors for the Center for Islamic Pluralism based in Washington, D.C.

Felicia Posluns

Felicia Posluns is an active community volunteer, mentor and leader in Toronto.  An accomplished businesswoman, she is the past recipient of the Kipnis-Wilson-Friedland Award which honours “inspiring” women who have made a difference to their communities.  Her charity work has included UJA Foundation, Canadian Friends of Yad Vashem, and the Song Shul.

Honey and Barry Sherman

Among Canada’s most generous philanthropists, Honey and Barry Sherman have lent their time, energy and resources to innumerable good causes including: the Sherman Community Campus in Toronto, Baycrest Hospital, Humber River Hospital, and the United Way.  In addition they have supported MCF, a charity in Kenya responsible for rescuing 6,000 orphans from the streets of Nairobi.

Brent Belzberg

Brent Belzberg has taken on extensive community and philanthropic roles in his career as a business leader.  He is the Chair of the Board of Directors of Mount Sinai Hospital in Toronto and was formerly the Chair of the Hospital’s Foundation Board. He serves as a member of the executive Committee for the Governing Council of the University of Toronto, and has served in the past with the Toronto Community Foundation, and the Centre for Israel and Jewish Affairs

Jeff Rubenstein

Jeff Rubenstein is member of the Board of Directors of University Hospital Network in Toronto.  A generous philanthropist in many sectors, Mr. Rubenstein is a particular leader in the health sector specifically in support of the Peter Munk Cardiac Centre, the Krembil Discovery Centre, SPARK (Special Programme in Applied Research and Therapy) and the Grand Cru Culinary Wine Festival which has raised more than $23 Million for the hospital to date.  

Ilter Ibramhof

Ilter Ibramhof co-founded the Fall for Dance North festival (FFDN) and serves as its Artistic Director.  FFDN is Toronto’s premiere dance festival.  FFDN mission is to attract new audiences to experience a diversity of the best, established and emerging dance happening in Toronto, across Canada and around the world. A registered charity, its mandate is to reflect Toronto’s multiculturalism and entice people to attend live dance performance throughout the year.

Raheel Raza

Raheel Raza is an Interfaith and Intercultural Diversity Consultant.  An outspoken advocate for gender equality and an activist for women's rights internationally, she has received many awards for her work to build bridges of understanding.  A fervent advocate for human rights, Raza is the first Muslim woman in Canada to lead mixed gender prayers.

Fran Sonshine

Fran Sonshine has a long history of involvement with volunteering in Toronto. Mrs. Sonshine is National Chair of the Canadian Society for Yad Vashem and served as one of the 5 members of the Holocaust Monument Development Council, responsible for Canada’s new Holocaust Monument in Ottawa. She is past Chair of both the Baycrest Board of Directors and its Foundation and serves as a member of the North York General Hospital Advisory Board. She is a past member of the ROM Board of Governors.



Back to: Speeches and Statements